Skip to Content

Recent News

Events, Media Appearances, Programs and Awards

Anna Dyring
May 31, 2024
Quantum Insights: interview with Anna Dyring
Sofia SimonXanadu.max-300x300
May 3, 2024
PhD candidate Sophia Simon receives the 2024 Xanadu Award for an Outstanding Publication
April 9, 2024
Quantum Days 2024 – the Canadian quantum community meets and mingles in Calgary
March 25, 2024
10th International Conference on Quantum Information and Quantum Control (CQIQC-X)
Mohsen Bagherimehrab
March 22, 2024
Postdoctoral Interview with Mohsen Bagherimehrab
Professor Li Qian
March 21, 2024
Professor Li Qian Awarded Prestigious Canada Research Chair in Quantum Photonic Technologies
Hoi-Kwong Lo
Feb. 13, 2024
Hoi-Kwong Lo named IEEE Fellow
ChemComms Social Graphics-2
Feb. 7, 2024
John Preskill announced as 2024 Bell Prize Winner
The 2024 Bell Prize recipient has been announced, recognizing John Preskill's outstanding achievements in quantum computation.
marlon brenes navarro
Jan. 29, 2024
Postdoctoral Fellow interview with Marlon Brenes
CQIQC-Technion Workshop: a successful collaboration
Jan. 22, 2024
CQIQC-Technion Workshop: a successful collaboration
Colin V headshot
Jan. 16, 2024
Postdoctoral Interview with Colin Vendromin
Jan. 9, 2024
Young-June Kim receives 2023 Dean's Research Excellence Award
Jan. 8, 2024
Helmy group to develop quantum sensors as an alternative to GPS
CQIQC-X Poster - small
Dec. 1, 2023
Call for Abstracts: 10th International Conference on Quantum Information and Quantum Control (CQIQC-X)
CQIQC logo
Nov. 28, 2023
Quantum Opportunities at U of T
Nov. 17, 2023
Postdoctoral Interview with Yuxuan Zhang
Interview with Yuxuan Zhang
Nov. 16, 2023
A&S alum Nathan Killoran knows a lot about quantum computers — and he wants you to know about them too
Arts & Sciences profile of former CQIQC graduate Nathan Killoran
cora_fujiwara head shot
Nov. 10, 2023
Post Doctoral Fellow Profile - Coraline Fujiwara
Nov. 9, 2023
Faculty Profile - Boris Braverman
Oct. 27, 2023
Physicists coax superconductivity and more from quasicrystals
Recent research by CQIQC member Prof. Sergio de la Barrera
Q-SITE Toronto No Text
Oct. 17, 2023
The story of Q-SITE
The Q-SITE conference was created by a group of U of T students in 2022 and organized again in both Toronto and Vancouver in September 2023. CQIQC has been a sponsor and collaborator right from the start of this successful student initiative.
nick headshot
Sept. 13, 2023
Nicholas Taylor Earns Top Prize at DSI’s SUDS Showcase
CQIQC Undergraduate Summer Research Program recipient Nicholas Taylor was one of the top-voted posters at the DSI's SUDS Showcase.
Sept. 12, 2023
Summer at CQIQC! Scholarship students reflect on research projects & career goals
Recipients of CQIQC's competitive scholarship program discussed their summer research projects, program experience and their future goals.
Aug. 14, 2023
Faculty Profile: Sergio de la Barrera and Xiang Li
Professors Sergio de la Barrera and Xiang Li have recently joined the University of Toronto. The Department of Physics has interviewed them to learn more about their research interests, future plans and past work and school experience.
Hae-Young Kee
July 20, 2023
Professor Hae-Young Kee has been awarded the 2023 CAP/DCMMP Brockhouse Medal for Outstanding work in Theoretical Quantum Research
This medal recognizes significant experimental or theoretical contributions to condensed matter and materials physics. Professor Hae-Young Kee is recognized as one of the world’s foremost theoreticians in identifying new quantum materials with desirable functionalities. Her work has emphasized identifying appropriate model Hamiltonians that have led to new insights and predictions.