Skip to Content


Request for nominations for the John Stewart Bell Prize 2024 for research on fundamental issue in quantum mechanics and their applications.


The Eight Biennial John Stewart Bell Prize for Research on Fundamental
Issues in Quantum Mechanics and Their Applications will be awarded to John
Preskill (Richard P. Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, California
Institute of Technology) for at the 10th International Conference on QuantumInformation and Quantum Control to be held at the Fields Institute, located
at the University of Toronto, August 26 -30, 2024. See our official announcement for more details.

2024 Award Nomination Announcement

Dear friends and colleagues:

We are pleased to announce the 2024 John Stewart Bell Prize, and ask for your assistance in identifying deserving candidates for the award.

The John Stewart Bell Prize for Research on Fundamental Issues in Quantum Mechanics and their Applications (short form: "Bell Prize") is awarded every other year, in particular again in 2024, for significant contributions first published in the 6 years preceding the award year. The award is meant to recognize major advances relating to the foundations of quantum mechanics and to the applications of these principles – this covers, but is not limited to, quantum information theory, quantum computation, quantum foundations, quantum cryptography, and quantum control. The award is not intended as a "lifetime achievement" award, but rather to highlight the continuing rapid pace of research in these areas. It is intended to cover even-handedly theoretical and experimental research, both fundamental and applied.  Further information about the Bell Prize may be found at

The award is funded and managed by the University of Toronto, Centre for Quantum Information and Quantum Control (CQIQC), but the award selection will be handled by an arms-length selection committee. The award will be presented as part of the biennial CQIQC conference, during which the awardee will be invited to deliver a prize lecture.  (The meeting will run in August 26-30, 2024 at the Fields Institute, University of Toronto.  The conference web page is under development, but the previous conference programme can be viewed at

To nominate a candidate for this award, please email your nomination to Helen Iyer, CQIQC administrative assistant, at

The nomination should include:

  • the name and affiliation of the nominee
  • a 1-2 paragraph statement of the importance of the contribution on the basis of which you are making the nomination
  • the principal literature citations to this work (which must have been published or in press between August 2017 and August 2023).

Self-nomination is prohibited.

All nominations received prior to August 30, 2023 will be considered (although the committee will not be bound to restrict itself to these nominations).

The deadline has been extended to September 30, 2023